Winter athletes from Stonington High and Wheeler High have received recognition from the ECC for the season.

The league did not select All-ECC players due to the shortened coronavirus season, but did honor scholar-athlete and sportsmanship winners.

Stonington's selections for basketball were Wynn Hammond for the boys team and Anne Drago for the girls, scholar athletes, and Alex Tobiassen and Teagan O'Brien, sportsmanship.

The Wheeler award winners were Lukas Jones and Molly Butremovic, scholar-athlete and Sam Taylor and Annie Dusault, sportsmanship.

In gymnastics, Stonington's Ruth Greene received the sportsmanship award and Desiree Zaharie the sportsmanship award.

— Keith Kimberlin

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.