standing letters

I want to thank the four Hopkinton members of the Chariho School Committee on attending the Hopkinton Town Council meeting on Tuesday, February 19. I suggested having them attend, and it was productive, even though we may not have been in agreement. So I publicly through this forum thank George Abbott, Catherine Giusti, Lisa Macaruso, and Sylvia Stanley for attending. I also note Susan Rogers from the administration was also present.

To clarify for readers of this publication, I support school committee stipends. My original letter to this publication emailed on Thursday, February 14, said I supported the stipend. Published on Friday, February 15, it stated in "Hoping for big turnout at Hopkinton council meeting," because of editing of my emailed letter, it stated I was not for the stipend.

Any Hopkinton resident should feel free to contact me at (401) 360-4603 or (401) 212-9458, or at, with any comments or concerns.

Scott Bill Hirst


The writer is vice president of the Hopkinton Town Council.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.