Sean O’Brien of Westerly was named to the dean’s list at Johnson & Wales University for the winter 2018-2019 term. O’Brien is a sports, entertainment, event – management major in the College of Hospitality Management.

Ian Rose of Westerly completed Basic Training and Infantry School at Fort Benning, Ga., as a member of the Rhode Island National Guard. A graduate of Westerly High School and the University of Rhode Island, Specialist Rose will continue to train and serve with the Rhode Island National Guard. 

The following local students were named to the dean’s list at the New England Institute of Technology for the third quarter: Westerly residents Katherine Barnas, Harrison Chagnon, Franco DePiro and Christopher Fry; Charlestown residents Scott Briggs, Bryan Flynn and Sergio Valdivia Sainz; Richmond residents, Lauren Almeida, Ethan Lapp and Kenneth Moden; Wood River Junction residents Christa LaFontaine and Michelle Reynolds; Stonington resident Andrew Bourque; Mystic residents Devon Cruz, Kristen Goodwin and Lucas Pereira; West Kingston residents Jarrid Chrissos, Jason Gardiner and Matthew Sunderland; Exeter resident Allan Peckham III; Groton residents Mark Francalangia, Khristina Malloy, Joseph Mucerino, Mery Rojas and Isaiah Sebastian; Kingston resident Chenwei Lu and West Greenwich residents Katharine Boynton, Kayla Duchesneau, Benjamin Tavares and Isabella Weikman

The following students were honored with the University of Rhode Island 2019 A. Robert Rainville Leadership Awards: N’Deye Yacino Dabo of Pawtucket, Student Employee Award; Dakota Grenier of Coventry, Robert L. Carothers Servant Leadership Award and Natalie Timas of Pawtucket, Student Leadership Award. The Team Excellence Award was received by members of  D.R.I.V.E., including Maya Moran of Brockton, Mass., Kevin Chenard of Attleboro, Mass., Sandra Gradoia of Oxford, Conn., Devon Binion of Stratford, Conn. and Emily Haz of Rutland, Mass.

Cassidy Argo of Ashaway received a scholarship from the Fred and Naomi Hazell Art Award Fund of The Philadelphia Foundation. She is a sophomore majoring in fine arts at the Moore College of Art & Design.

Grace Ferrara of Stonington was named to the head of school scholar honors list at Pomfret School for the Winter 2018-2019 term. She is a member of the class of 2020.

Benjamin D. Hubertus of Hope Valley was named to the scholastic honor roll at Oregon State University for the winter 2019 term. He is a senior majoring in chemical engineering.

Brendan McCann of Pawcatuck was named as Worcester Polytechnic Institute Men's Student-Athlete of the Week. He is a member of the school's rowing team.

Nathaniel Pepler of Hope Valley has been selected for an academic merit scholarship to Delaware Valley University.

Dr. Thomas Mancini of East Greenwich is the recipient of the 2019 American Podiatric Medical Association Humanitarian Award for his medical missionary work.

Dick Fossa of North Kingstown High School was named Athletic Director of the Year and the North Kingstown High School boys’ basketball team, coached by Aaron Thomas, was named Team of the Year at the Rhode Island Interscholastic League Awards Luncheon.

Marilynn "Lynn" Malerba, chief of the Mohegan Tribe, will be the commencement speaker at Eastern Connecticut State University's commencement exercises in May. Malerba will also receive an honorary doctorate degree at the ceremonies.

Jon Campbell, Alan Fox, Claudia Lennear, Phil Madeira, Neal and the Vipers and Rico Turchetti were inducted to the Rhode Island Music Hall of Fame’s Class of 2019.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.