The following students were awarded scholarships from the Westerly Community Credit Union: Helena Hall-Thomsen of Westerly was awarded the Joseph N. Cugini Scholarship; Adrianna Turano of Westerly was awarded the Robert M. Bewlay Memorial Scholarship; Faith Bailey of Westerly and Shea Jackson of Wood River Junction, were each awarded a Westerly Community Credit Union College Scholarship; and Claire Fox of Charlestown, was awarded the Cooperative Credit Union Scholarship.

Nicholas S. Bellone and Jacob G. Marra of Westerly and Rachel Ann Serra of Charlestown were named to the dean’s list at Wentworth Institute of Technology for the spring 2019 semester.

Sydney Iacoi of Westerly, Sydney Allen and Shelby Olsen of Charlestown, Kristen Archer and Hannah Mahoney of Pawcatuck and Emily Geary of Stonington were named to the dean’s list at Emmanuel College for the spring 2019 semester.

Sierra Nastasi of Westerly and David Porter of Mystic participated in a Summer Research Institute program at Eastern Connecticut State University. A member of the class of 2022 majoring in psychology, Nastasi's project was titled "Perceptions of Men and Women in Gender." A member of the class of 2020 majoring in English, Porter’s project was titled "Overlooking How to Fish: How Chris Yates' Contributions to Modern Day Transcendentalism Have Yet to be Recognized."

Elizabeth Castaldi, Grace Lund and Alexa Madeiros of Westerly; Kyle Burdick, Bryanna Fusaro and Kaitlyn Whipple of Pawcatuck; Dana Sutcliffe of Caroline; Alexis Desjardins of Hope Valley; Noelle Thomas and Sarah Thomas of Stonington; and Emily Kulick of Mystic were named to the dean’s list at Lasell College for the spring 2019 semester.

Alexander M. Berardo of Westerly received a Bachelor of Arts degree in English and French studies from Colby College. Berardo attended Westerly High School and is the son of Mark and Sandra Berardo of Bradford.

James A. Costa of Pawcatuck, Tucker A. Curtis of Charlestown and Samantha A. Orciari of Hope Valley were named to the dean’s list at Saint Michael’s College for the spring 2019 semester.

Hannah Talbot and Conor Boumenot of Pawcatuck were named to the dean’s list at Stonehill College for the spring 2019 semester.

Brendan Crowley of Pawcatuck was named to the president's list at Castleton University for the spring 2019 semester.

Connor Naslund and Emma Sabbadini of Stonington and Valerie Knowles of North Stonington received scholarships from Charter Oak Credit Union.

Jess Downie of Stonington was named to the dean's list at Bucknell University for the spring 2019 semester.

The Stonington Historical Society was awarded first place, books, for “A Village Love Affair: Rollie McKenna's Stonington” and Mystic Seaport Museum was awarded second place, marketing/promotional materials, for "Death in the Ice: The Mystery of the Franklin Experience" and second place, supplemental materials, for "Mystic Seaport Museum: Official Guidebook" in the  New England Museum Association’s  2019 Publication Awards Competition.

Tom Coderre, senior adviser to Gov. Gina Raimondo, received the Hope Harris Memorial Award from AIDS Project Rhode Island at the AIDs Run/Walk for Life.  The award recognizes persons or an organization exemplifying service to the communities the project serves and dedication to the fight against HIV/AIDS.


Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.