Nicholas L. Lauzon of Westerly received the Young Leader Award from Rhode Island Treasurer Seth Magaziner. Lauzon is a member of the Westerly High School class of 2020. The award was presented to 57 high school juniors in the state of Rhode Island who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in math, economics, finance and business-related courses, and is active in his or her community.

Stephen McCarthy of Westerly, the public safety supervisor at Westerly Hospital received a Hospital Hero: Award for Excellence in Hospital Care from the Hospital Association of Rhode Island. Other winners included Nanette Doan of North Kingstown and Thomas Hoy of West Warwick, clinical leaders at South County Health. The awards were presented at the association’s Hospital Hero: Award for Excellence in Hospital Care event held at the Rhode Island Nursing Education Center in Providence.

The following local students were named to the honor roll at The Prout School for the third quarter: Westerly residents, highest honors, grade 9, Lilia Gwaltney, Emily Jalbert and Drew Jalbert, grade 11, Elyse Yanusas, grade 12, Claire Jalbert, Sarabeth McClain, Alexandra Wilks and Annaliesa Wood, high honors, grade 9, Isabel Leal, Julia Mastrandrea, William Maynard, Luke Trebisacci and Bruno Trombino, grade 10, Drew Brouillette, Lydia Gladski and Kylie Teixeira, grade 11, Abigail Benoit and Isabella Trombino, grade 12, Lauren Anhalt, Benjamin Bilotti and Andrew Donnelly, honor roll, grade 9, Joan O'Connor, grade 10, Devin Kazarian, Jessica McClain and Lauren Wilks, grade 11, Samuel Eaton and Ryan Steele, grade 12, Liam Mitchell; Ashaway residents, high honors, grade 12, Christina Vangel, honor roll, grade 9, Anthony Fusaro, grade 11, Tori Monahan; Bradford resident, grade 9, honor roll, Alexandra Gencarelli; Carolina residents, grade 11, high honors, Michael King, honor roll, grade 12, Katrina Straub; Charlestown residents, highest honors, grade 9, Hugo Lehrach and Logan Murphy, grade 11, Isabella DeSantis, high honors, grade 9, Noah DeSantis, grade 10, Eloise Bussey, grade 11, Abigail Chapel, honor roll, grade 10, Melina Gardiner and Grace Nooney, grade 11, Jeremy Lake, grade 12, Calum Lehrach; Greenville resident high honors, grade 12, Luke Lemieux; Griswold resident honor roll, grade 11, Emma McCall; Hope Valley resident highest honors, grade 11, Kendra Gever; Kenyon resident high honors, grade 10, Steven Choiniere; North Smithfield resident, high honors, grade 11, Victoria Thurley; North Stonington residents, high honors, grade 10, Abigail Vetrovec, honor roll, grade 10, Riley Sweet, grade 11, Allison Slitt; Pawcatuck residents, highest honors, grade 9, Christina Wanta, high honors, grade 9, Haley Bush-Nickerson, high honors, grade 12 Wesley Rea; Richmond resident, highest honors, grade 10, Meghan Adams; Shannock resident, high honors, grade 12, Vanessa Oatley; Stonington resident, highest honors, grade 9, Molly Neale; Wood River resident, honor roll, grade 9, Yang (Marvin) Zhang; and Wakefield resident, highest honors, grade 11, Michael Slusarczyk.

Civil rights icon and author Ruby Bridges was the speaker at the 165th commencement ceremony of Rhode Island College in May when Luis A. Miranda Jr., founder of MirRam Group, who has consulted on a number of successful political campaigns and was part of the team that managed Sen. Hilary Rodham Clinton, Sen. Charles Schumer and Sen. Kisten Gillibrand’s successful campaigns for the U.S. Senate, received an honorary doctorate degree.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.