AGE: 33.

OCCUPATION: Co-founder of consumer goods startup Leaf Shave.

RESIDENCE: Mystic.

BORN, RAISED & GREW UP IN: I was born in Massachusetts, but raised primarily in Connecticut; in both Canterbury and Norwich.

RIGHT NOW I’M IN THE MIDDLE OF: Storyboarding a video shoot at Leaf Shave HQ, showing users how to take care of their new razor.

I ENJOY SPENDING MY TIME: With my wife, April, working on projects for our business, exploring driving-distance cities, or relaxing in our home.

MY PROUDEST ACCOMPLISHMENT: After my graduate studies, I joined a start-up in Pittsburgh developing robotic-technologies for orthopedic surgery. One of my proudest moments was being in an operating room in Leuven, Belgium, with the first surgeon in the world performing the first knee replacement using our technology. And everything that followed that moment.

I’D LIKE TO BE REMEMBERED FOR: Being a good person, a kind friend, a loving husband and son.

TOP ON MY BUCKET LIST: Replacing every Gillette (no offense, big-G!) razor with a Leaf Razor.

I ALWAYS CARRY: A metal straw. I drink a lot of iced-tea and had to stop using plastic straws on the go. I’ve given metal straws as gifts to friends and family and while at first I think they saw it as an oddity, I’m hoping my persistence will pay off!

WHAT I WANTED TO BE WHEN I GREW UP: A Siberian tiger. Turns out that was an unlikely dream.

PEOPLE WHO HAVE MOST INFLUENCED ME: My father and mother, probably in even more ways than I realize. They’re both very kind people and set a great example for me growing up.

FAVORITE AUTHORS: Neil Gaiman, Michael Chabon.

BOOKS ON MY NIGHT STAND: "Less," by Andrew Seer Greer.

I AM LISTENING TO: "How Did This Get Made," a podcast, which is Hilarious btw.

LAST MOVIE WATCHED: "Lego Movie (2.)"

FAVORITE TV SHOW: "The Office,"  (American version). I find a new thing to chuckle at every time I watch it.

FAVORITE RADIO SHOW: I more typically consume podcasts, I’ve been enjoying Reply All (from Gimlet Media) for quite a while, it has some staying power for me.

FAVORITE GENRE OF MUSIC: I have terrible taste in music.

TOP COMFORT FOOD: Crepes!

SOCIAL NETWORKING SITES I USE MOSTLY: LinkedIn, Instagram (mostly my business’s account @LeafShave)

TRAITS I MOST ADMIRE: A strong work ethic.

PET PEEVES: Showing up late to things (on-time is late!)

FAVORITE QUOTATION: “Would I rather be feared or loved…? Easy. Both. I want people to be afraid of how much they love me.” – Michael Scott

MY FAVORITE THING ABOUT OUR LITTLE CORNER OF THE WORLD: I love being able to see the water any time I want.

CAN’T LIVE WITHOUT: People more creative than me creating movies that I like to see.

LITTLE KNOWN FACT ABOUT ME: I am statistically-significantly worse at the game Settlers of Catan than my wife. We did the math.

BEST ADVICE I EVER RECEIVED: Take the leap!

ADVICE I BEST LIKE TO GIVE: You don’t get what you don’t ask for. Which is to say, advocate for the things that you want. You won’t always get them, but you may never know if you don’t put yourself out there.

IF I RULED THE WORLD I WOULD: Abdicate. Too much responsibility!

IF I WON THE LOTTERY, THE FIRST THING I WOULD DO IS: Create a responsible fiscal plan.

I DRIVE A: White, 2017 Infiniti.

I WISH I DROVE A: Public transportation! I miss that from my time in Boston.

ALWAYS IN MY FRIDGE: Milk.

IF I COULD INVITE ONE SPECIAL PERSON TO JOIN ME FOR DINNER AND CONVERSATION, I WOULD INVITE: My wife April’s father, who passed before I had the chance to meet him. I would shake his hand and tell him about all the things we’re building together.

— Interview arranged and edited by Nancy Burns-Fusaro

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
PLEASE TURN OFF YOUR CAPS LOCK.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.