WYBL (Westerly Youth Basketball League) Division 3 Celtics, won the championship in February, 44-35. The team, made up of grade 7 to 9 students, finished the season with an undefeated record of 9-0.

In a pre-game tribute, League President Mike Joyce honored Mike Najim, recognizing of his 47 years of service to the league.

The team was led by Coach Cory Jacobson and Assistant Coach Scott Zerbarini. Players on the championship team includ Liam Jacobson, Jack Zerbarini, Rocco Capalbo, Nico Capalbo, Landon Husereau, Alyn Husereau, James Tolmie, Anthony Ritacco and Logan Morin.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.