Looking back / Thanksgiving 2007: Chariho’s 7-year winning streak came to end

Looking back / Thanksgiving 2007: Chariho’s 7-year winning streak came to end

WEST GREENWICH — Exeter-West Greenwich’s Kevin Luczak scored on a 6-yard run in overtime, and the Knights snapped a seven-game losing skid to Chariho, 20-14, in the 2007 game.

Luczak, the team’s quarterback, rushed for 60 yards, caught a pass for 27 yards and recovered two fumbles on defense after stripping the ball from Chariho runners. He was named the game’s MVP.

“I walked right in,” Luczak said of the winning touchdown. “The holes were there. The line was making the holes. We knew we could make it on that play and we just executed.”

Luczak was the team’s backup. Starting quarterback Zach Hornoff was ineligible for the game.

Chariho trailed 14-0 at the half, committing three turnovers.

“For whatever reason, we didn’t play well in the first half,” Chariho coach Mike Kelly said. “We’d complete a pass and the ball gets stripped, we make a nice run to get the momentum back and the ball gets stripped. We stopped making those mistakes in the second half.”

Chariho quarterback Jake Blanding scored on a option run in the third quarter to make it 14-6. He added another 15-yard TD run with 11:12 left in the game. He passed to Andy Devereaux for the conversion to tie it at 14.

Chariho had the ball first in overtime, but failed to score. A third-down pass bounced off a Chariho receiver at the 1-yard line. Blanding slipped on fourth down, setting up Luczak’s winning run.

 Blanding completed 9 of 15 passes for 61 yards, and closed his career as the most prolific passer in school history.

He finished the season with 930 passing yards and eight touchdowns, both school records. His career mark of 1,344 yards was a school record. None of the records still stands.

Blanding received the award for Chariho’s top offensive player in the game. Rich Sheehan received the outstanding offensive player award for EWG. Chariho’s Greg Fiedorowicz and EWG’s Ben Mitsmenn were named the top defensive linemen.

The top defensive player awards went to Chariho’s Evan Woodruff and EWG’s Nick Murphy.

Chariho’s Nick Barrington earned the special teams award, while Rick Crompton was the recipient for EWG.

Chariho finished the season 4-6, while the Knights were 9-2, losing to Classical, 34-22, in the Division IV Super Bowl.

Keith Kimberlin






Latest Videos