Meet Your Neighbor: Richmond resident Sheila Grover

Meet Your Neighbor: Richmond resident Sheila Grover



About Sheila Grover

AGE: prefer not to say

EDUCATION: Minnechaug Regional High School in Wilbraham, Mass., B.S. in speech from Emerson College in Boston, Mass.

HOW LONG IN RICHMOND: 16 years

OCCUPATION: Costume department supervisor for film and television, member of IATSE locals 764 and 481

FAMILY: Husband Steven Grover, two college-aged stepdaughters, and an 8-year-old daughter attending Richmond Elementary School

Why did you and other parents form Friends of Chariho and what is its purpose?

FOC started as a Facebook group of like minded residents in the Chariho school district during the budgeting period last year. Chariho was faced with requiring a significant budget increase and parents were concerned that it might not pass. We banded together to get accurate information out regarding why there was such an increase needed and the dire consequences for our district if the budget did not pass. We were successful in that endeavor and have continued as a Facebook group to engage the community by informing members and the community in general about school committee meetings and town council topics that affect Chariho.

What do you like most about living in Richmond and what don’t you like about living there?

I love being smack in the middle of farmland, forest and seashore lifestyles. Hiking in the spring, beach in the summer, harvest fairs in the fall and skiing at Yawgoo in the winter! What could be better? It’s also nice to live in a place that allows us to raise chickens and goats while only being 40 min away from a vibrant city. Probably the very best thing about Richmond are the people. It really is a wonderful community. We started out meeting great people at places like the Wood River Inn and as our youngest started going to school we met more and more great families. Volunteering and becoming involved in local government has really connected me to this community in a way that has never happened anywhere else I have lived.

Please talk a bit about your work, how often it takes you out of town and how you manage that with your family.

My work currently is taking me to NYC 5 days a week. I am supervising the costume shop for an Amazon Show. I have a really great husband and daughter who adjusted well to me not being there all of the time. This summer we were able to spend time in New York as a family, which was very fun and great for my daughter to have a taste of city life.

I have periods where I am home and my husband returns to Point Judith to work as a commercial fisherman. Sometimes I work on films in Rhode Island. I recently costumed supervised both The Discovery which shot in Newport, and The Polka King that was based in Pawtucket.

Really we are like any other family that has a parent that travels. We divide and conquer, but when we are all together under the same roof it is not taken for granted, and we make the most of those times.

Introduce yourself Would you or someone you know like to be profiled? If so, send an email to news@thewesterlysun.com.


Advertisement
 
 

Latest Videos

X